As we grow up we are often asked, “What do you want be when you grow up?”. Then as we journey through life we often take completely different directions. There are often times we sit back and wonder where we are going and where we have been. At these times, many of us may wish we were something, somewhere or someone different, or maybe even with someone different.

So looking at this weeks writing challenge I began to reflect on this and the journey my life has taken. The reflections I have taken based on this topic are something I will share with you here.

So when I was younger I really never had a clear wish I were period, I didn’t have designs on being anything or anyone. Though there was a period in ’75/’76 when I was 10 and fantasized about being the drummer in ABBA and falling in love with Agnetha…

Maybe this lack of knowing or thinking what I wish I were impacted me more than it should. I have drifted around quite a bit and still don’t feel totally settled. I have had 35 different employers and moved 45 times and I still don’t think this is where I want to be. Don’t get me wrong, I love the life my darling and I share and would not change that one bit. It is just I am wondering what I can do next. I finish my Psychology and addiction studies degree at the end of this month, and no I do not wish I were a psychologist, and yet I am looking at what I will study next.

So the reality is if you were to ask me what it is I wish I were, then my answer would be –
I wish I were a person that could settle and find a place to call “home”, I wish I were able to build a life that could meet all our needs and then be able to provide a sanctuary and support for others. But most of all I wish I were able to make the love of my life’s life as wonderful and complete as she makes me feel.

