Dear Andrew, Don’t be alarmed by this letter, yes it is from me/you 33 years in the future. No I am not going to give you any secrets that will help you alter the path you take, nor am I going to tell you not to do things any differently. Why you may ask? I have this opportunity to send my 14-year-old self a letter from the future and I am not going to take the opportunity to make things better or change things? Well, I think you will know why I am not going to do that, and you will thank me eventually. If I tell you all the things you are going to do and the mistakes you are going to make now as a 14-year-old, you will go forward and make different mistakes and different choices. But most importantly you will end up changing where you/I are/am now, and that would defeat the purpose of this letter to you. So let’s get to what I want to say to you and what I want you to take away from this. You are stronger than you think you are. You will face and experience many people who take advantage of you, use you for their own purpose and then spit you out. But don’t worry, everyone suffers this and nothing you can do now will change this, by changing it now, at 14, you will not learn the valuable lessons that make you into the man you become. All that you need to know is that you do make it, in spite of all that you face, and that your life is and always will be worth living. Don’t ever give up, no matter how bad you feel, no matter how despicable people behave towards you. Use your inner strength to rise above this, because on the other side is a life more wonderful than you could ever imagine. It is from these knocks and heartaches that you will gain your strength, knowledge and experience to take you to where you belong. The only thing I can give you is that you will find deep and satisfying love at some stage in your life and this will open your eyes, mind and heart to the realities of life. Don’t worry it will happen, but I can’t tell you when, that is all part of the journey. Finally, you will find yourself, and be proud of yourself, even if others aren’t, that doesn’t matter, you will be comfortable with who you are and how you are. How anyone else perceives this is irrelevant, you are not here to please anybody else. Love always, Your older, wiser, still alive self…

