Growing up in the 70’s and 80’s, and having a taste for all types of music, there were a lot of quirky songs that hit the airwaves. The type of song I am referring to are the really popular songs that are really insubstantial in terms of quality, but obviously they capture a generations imagination. Often these songs are one hit wonders. Whether the performers were unable to back it up with anything different or less quirky or whether they just took the money and ran!

The list of songs I present here is not necessarily my favourite songs or even songs I have any desire to hear again, it is merely a list of the quirky songs I have encountered in my life. Those with a bit of a review are the ones I can remember vividly, and yes I do sit here slapping my head to try and get those catchy but annoying tunes out of my ears!

The first of these I can remember was Tiny Tim’s Tiptoe through the Tulips.  Amazing how one persons quirky tune can capture the imagination, the singing was not really something to write home to mum about, nor was the ukelele playing, but this song somehow it reached #17. This was a song that came from 1929 and has had many iterations, this being the most popular. Tiny Tim – YouTube

The next couple of songs I remember are from a compilation album my parents had, all four of these are songs I would play over and over for their fun sounds.

Wipeout by the Safaris, mainly for the drumming and guitar but also for the crazy laugh at the start. “Wipeout”
 Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini by Brian Hyland, just the silly sound of it! Brian Hyland – Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini
Snoopy vs The Red Baron – The Royal Guardsmen, just because I loved Snoopy. Snoopy vs. The Red Baron (Snoopy’s Christmas) (CC)
The Lion Sleeps Tonight – The Tokens, just love the Wemoweh, oh no stop get out of my head! The Tokens – The Lion Sleeps Tonight – Melynga

Now to some from my era –
Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep – Middle of the Road, Middle of the Road – Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep – Totp 1971 … Still love this one!
Popcorn – Hot Butter, I hum this every time I want to make popcorn to watch a movie! Hot Butter – Popcorn – YouTube
Under the Moon of Love – Showaddywaddy, a hit while we were living back in England in the 70’s. Showaddywaddy, Under The Moon Of Love – YouTube
Shuddup You Face – Joe Dolce, Classic! Joe Dolce – Shaddup You Face
Barbie Girl – Aqua, come on Barbie let’s go party! barbie girl lyrics – YouTube
Macarana – Los Dol Rio, ashamed to admit I no the moves 😦 Los del Rio – Macarena original
Achy Breaky Heart – Billy Ray Cyrus, Oh how I hate this song! Billy Ray Cyrus – Achy Breaky Heart – YouTube How the heck could this beat out Unforgiven or Under the Bridge or One in a year of great songs this rubbish was so big!
Birdy Song – the Tweets The Birdie Song – The Tweets (High Quality) – YouTube Every wedding or 21st I went to in the 80’s played this!
Lonely – Akon, how annoying, but catchy – Akon Lonely (Official Music Video …
Don’t Worry be Happy – Bobby McFerrin, annoying but great message – Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry, Be Happy  Bobby is actually a fantastic musician, why oh why did he do this?
Ca Plane Pour moi – Plastic Bertrand, loved it then and still do!!! Oops something is wrong with my head. Plastic Bertrand – Ca Plane Pour Moi

And last but most definitely not least, the Lost Sheep Song – Adrian Muncie, Lost Sheep Song – YouTube  Oh the lament, the music is awesome.

Apologies to those who do watch and then can’t get some of these catchy tunes out of their heads, it’s not my fault. 🙂

