Every second weekend we have a long weekend, I work longer in 9 days to get the extra day off a fortnight. So on those weekends we usually make something to have for afternoon tea or a snack. We are also getting towards the end of the month, so the cupboard is slightly bare. So I was at a bit of a loss as to what to make. So I grabbed the last of the self-raising flour, an apple and some pepitas and thought hmmm what can I do with these. This is my creation, which came out really moist and light and tasty.

Ingredients
1 Apple cored and diced (I used Royal Gala, but any will do)
1/4 Cup pepitas (Sunflower seeds) toasted
1 Tablespoon Mixed Spice
2 Cups flour
60g Butter
Milk to combine
Beaten egg to coat

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C or 150 C for fan forced.
  2. Mix flour, mixed spice and butter till they resemble breadcrumbs. (I do this by hand, but can use a blender or mixer).
  3. Add the chopped apple and pepitas and mix well.
  4. Add a dash of milk until a dough forms, if you accidentally add too much just add a little more flour.
  5. Roll to 12mm (1/2″) thick.
  6. Use cutter to make scone, knead remnants together until complete. Should make 12 scones.
  7. Coat top of scone with beaten egg.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Don’t over bake as they will dry up.
  9. For a savoury scone add cheese and chives instead.

 

