Some people thrive on name dropping. They look for every opportunity to say they have met or know this person or that person. Do they think that the fame will rub off or that others will be impressed because they know this person or that person? Maybe it is just an ice breaker for some people, like those of us that are socially inept and don’t know how or where to start a conversation or even join in. For me though meeting or having met notable people is not really something that I dwell on or use to impress, though I have met a few.I sat down and thought about all the people, that have reached some level of fame, that I have either met, spoken to or associated with. So, for one time only, do my share of name dropping. Some of these people may be familiar to you, others not. This is not my intention to big note or anything. I just wondered how many people actually DO know or have met people and don’t talk about it. Whilst others have been in the same train or some other random happening with people and they brag it about constantly as if they are their best friend.

Some of these people who I have met I have great admiration for, this is because I admire them and not due to the fact I have met or spoken to them. It is odd how we admire people and if the opportunity to meet or talk to them we struggle for what to say. Those in this category for me, we met before they became famous so I just talked to them normally. I do wonder if I would be able to do the same now they have reached some level of fame.

Anyway, for me fame is not something I search or yearn for, actually I want total anonymity and I pity those that do achieve fame whilst plying their craft. I am sure the lack of privacy and ability to have a easy-going life is not a happy price to pay.So here goes, these are the people I have either met, spoken to or known.

Colonel Sanders

Colonel Sanders (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When KFC first came to Perth as Kentucky Fried Chicken in the early 70’s, the real Colonel Sanders came to open the stores. We happened to be there when he did, and he shook my hand. I was on 7 at the time. But I do remember he looked just like the pictures with a white suit and pencil black tie and a beard. Later when at school we did a tour of a KFC store with school, watching how they made the chicken packs. Though we never got to see the 11 secret herbs and recipes. It does taste like it has Chinese 5 spice in it. Sorry to all those that love their KFC, I really don’t know how or why I ever ate any of that take away stuff, glad I don’t anymore. My health is more important to me, and we enjoy eating what we cook together, and we know what we put in it.

 

Danny Roberts – Danny is an Australian actor who has appeared in many tv dramas and a few movies. His most notable parts have been Sons and Daughters (Andy Green), Stingers (Jake Taylor), Underbelly (Jake Taylor) and Home and Away (Dennis Harling). Danny was in the same year as me at high school in 1979-1980. He was always popular with the girls. I didn’t know him well, but I knew the people he was friends with. I admire Danny because he always seems to be able to keep himself working and get some good roles.

English: Australian musician Johnny Diesel at ...

English: Australian musician Johnny Diesel at Rocks Night Market, Sydney. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Diesel – Mark Lizotte – I met Mark when he and I were 14. His dad plays saxophone and the father of my friend across the road played drums. He and Mark’s dad were friends from their time in America. Mark and his friend Russell and the two dad’s were rehearsing for a wedding band. I had dabbled with guitar, badly, up to this time and Mark was an instant hit with me. He played with such ease and confidence and it was no surprise when I saw that Jimmy Barnes had enlisted him to play guitar with him. Mark has had numerous hits in Australia, I am not sure how influential he has been overseas, but he should be. He continues to tour Australia and write music.

I have been a fan of Diesel’s music from the first hearings and admire his ability to stay true to his own music.

Another blog about Diesel.

Neil Elvis Winmar – Nicky Winmar – Played Australian Rules football for Saint Kilda football club from 1987 – 1998, he played 230 games and a further 21 games for Footscray before retiring. This photograph is from a famous game against Collingwood at their home ground in Victoria Park. Collingwood fans not being known for their tolerance were taunting Nicky throughout the game with racists slurs. At the end of the game Nicky lifted his guernsey and pointed to his stomach to say “I have guts”, the image is an icon of Australia’s anti-discrimination.

I played a few games of indoor cricket with Nicky in 1985, when he was playing for South Fremantle and working at a swimming pool company. My best mate at the time was also working in the swimming pool industry and asked me to join the team. Nicky was exceptional at all sports and a very quietly spoken guy. My most memorable impression was the amazing width of his shoulders! I loved watching Nicky play for Saint Kilda and always vehemently defended him when fellow football fans were making slurs against him. In an odd coincidence I met the ex-husband of his wife when I worked in a bank in Maffra, he was a fellow Saint Kilda player with Nicky.

Craig Parry – Popeye – Australian Golfer. Another person I met through indoor cricket. Craig has been a professional golfer since 1985. His most notable victories are in the Australian open 1992 and 2007 and Japan open 1997. I umpired Craig at Osborne Park indoor cricket and was lucky enough to have a round of golf with him, scoring my best score of all time 88.

Craig is almost spoken of with affection in Australian golfing circles and he has continued to perform well throughout his career. I always hope he does well when I see him in a tournament.

Dave Faulkner – Lead singer of the Hoodoo Gurus. I haven’t actually met Dave in person but rang in to a radio show and talked to him. I have loved the Hoodoo Gurus music from the first time I heard them, and years later they are still making quality music.

The question I asked was something about what he felt about his music not being aired on commercial radio. He said he wasn’t too bothered by that because it is all about the music. Great answer because it is just about the music.

Warwick Miller – former owner of Guess watches, competes in the Sydney to Hobart yacht race. I met Warwick during the year of Sambucca. Warwick raced a Porsche 944 and his mechanic, Spence, also helped with Ross’ car from time to time. We had dinner in Adelaide when we were there for the Mallalla race, and spent a lot of time in Oran Park over a weekend race there. He is an absolute gentlemen and full of wonderful stories and experiences.

The last I heard Warwick had sold his property on the Sydney waterfront. The other’s in the Porsche cup that had been there said it was amazing.

Clive Anderson – British tv personality. Famous for the British version of Who’s Line is it Anyway and having the Bee Gee’s walk out on him on an interview show. I met Clive on my one and only television appearance on a short-lived show called Brain Box. I was on the second episode. A quiz show with lots of intricate puzzles to work out. Unfortunately I was up against a statistician and our puzzle was numbers related :). Clive was a fun guy who made you feel at ease whilst the tapping was on. He has an extraordinarily large cranium.

Here are a couple of others – Cooking the Books. I also know the champion Collingwood player and his parents, Scott Pendlebury, though he was a little baby when I met him…

